ECDL Entry Requirements

ECDL is the name that we have given to this part of our training courses, but the actual full name is ‘QQI Award Level 4 – ‘Information & Communications Technology Skills’. We teach the full award, as in all the modules to complete this award and it is in par with the ‘Leaving Certificate’ or QQI Level 4.

The Award code is 4M0855.

This course is open to those who have completed a suitable level of education or students who have completed the Introduction to IT Skills course at the centre or an equivalent QQI Level 3 IT Skills course.

Course Duration

The duration of the course is flexible depending on individual student needs and abilities.


On completion of this course students may continue their studies at the training centre by choosing to undertake our course in Web Design at QQI Level 5.

Course Description

The New ECDL is a means of indicating that you have acquired the basic skills to use a computer in a wide variety of modules, each module provides a practical programme of up-todate skills and knowledge areas, which are validated by a test.
Our training centre is an ECDL approved training centre using computer based testing to assess candidates.
The software used in this course is Microsoft Office 2010 for Word, Spreadsheets, Presentations and Database.
The Open Source software GIMP 2.10 is used for the Image Editing module and Microsoft Movie Maker is used for the Digital Media Technology module as well as working with online social networks such as Facebook is part of the course.

Modules Studied

New ECDL Modules Computer Essentials Presentations
  Online Essentials Using Databases
  Word Processing Image Editing
QQI Level 4 Modules Communication Personal and Interpersonal Development
  Work Experience Personal Effectiveness
  Digital Media Technology Maths